National association of science writers 2014 wnba

Pat McNees and Debbie Brodsky talk about what personal histories are, and what personal historians do, and why Tell your story now. But you can either run from it, or learn from it.

National association of science writers 2014 wnba

The WNBA began with eight teams: Sheryl Swoopesthe first player signed shown in Two teams were added in Detroit and Washington [9] and two more in Orlando and Minnesotabringing the number of teams in the league up to twelve.

We expect to keep growing the league. Under head coach Van Chancellorthe team posted a 98—24 record through their first four seasons 16—3 in the Playoffs. AfterCooper retired from the league and the Comets dynasty came to an end. Sparks; new league ownership and contraction — [ edit ] Lisa Leslie of the Sparks The top contender in the season was the Los Angeles Sparks.

Led by Lisa Lesliethe Sparks posted a regular-season record of 28—4. Looking to repeat inthe Sparks again made a strong run toward the postseason, going 25—7 in the regular season under head coach Michael Cooperformerly of the Los Angeles Lakers. Again, Leslie dominated opponents throughout the Playoffs, leading the Sparks to a perfect 6—0 record through all three rounds, beating the New York Liberty in the Finals.

This led to two teams moving: This sale of teams also led to two teams folding, the Miami Sol and Portland Firebecause new owners could not be found. Bill Laimbeer leaves his mark — [ edit ] The WNBA Players Association threatened to strike in if a new deal was not worked out between players and the league.

The result was a delay in the start of the preseason. The team was just 9—23 in Laimbeer orchestrated a worst-to-first turnaround and the Shock finished the season 25—9 in first place in the Eastern Conference. The Shock beat the Sparks, winning game three on a three-pointer by Deanna Nolan.

Val Ackermanthe first WNBA president, resigned effective February 1,citing the desire to spend more time with her family.

national association of science writers 2014 wnba

Ackerman later became president of USA Basketball. After missing out on the Finals in andthe Shock bounced back in behind newly acquired Katie Smithalong with six remaining members from their Finals run CashFordHolland-CornNolanPowelland Riley.

national association of science writers 2014 wnba

The Shock finished second in the Eastern Conference, and knocked off first-seeded Connecticut in the second round of the Playoffs. The Shock faced reigning champion Sacramento Monarchs in a five-game series. The Shock won game five on their home floor.

A dispersal draft was held January 8, Teams selected in inverse order of their records; Chicago received the first pick. This fast-paced offense was perfect for his team, especially after the league shortened the shot clock from 30 seconds to 24 seconds in The Mercury were well-suited for fast offense behind these three players.

Phoenix averaged a league-record Facing the reigning champion Detroit Shockthe Mercury imposed their high-scoring offense with hopes of capturing their first title in franchise history.

Atlanta businessman Ron Terwilliger was the original owner of the new team. Paul Westhead resigned from the Mercury after capturing the title and Penny Taylor opted to stay home to prepare for the Summer Olympicscausing the Mercury to falter in The team posted a 16—18 record and became the first team in WNBA history to miss the Playoffs after winning the championship in the previous season.

In their place, the Detroit Shock won their third championship under coach Bill Laimbeersolidifying their place in WNBA history before Laimbeer resigned early ineffectively ending the Shock dynasty. During the regular season, the first ever outdoor professional basketball game in North America was played at Arthur Ashe Stadium in New York City.

The Comets ceased operations on December 1, after no owners for the franchise could be found.

After an unsatisfying conclusion inthe Mercury looked to bounce back to championship caliber. Helped by the return of Penny Taylorthe Mercury once again locked up first place in the Western Conference and advanced to the Finals.The Women’s National Book Association was established in , before women in America had the right to vote.

Check out our Centennial website for more . ScienceWriters Registration is open October , Washington, D.C. ScienceWriters is a meeting for science writers, by science writers. Join us in Washington, D.C., for professional development workshops developed by the National Association of Science Writers, briefings on scientific research presented by the Council for the.

Derrick Powell Vice President, Athlete Representation. Derrick represents players in the National Basketball Association and internationally. He is certified as an agent by the National Basketball Players Association and has handled contract negotiations, marketing and other off-the-court matters for more than fourteen years.

Remember, members of Women’s National Book Association get discounted submission rates. If you are interested in becoming a member, check out the Join Us page of this website. WNBA . Apache/ (Red Hat) Server at Port A native of Cincinnati, Drew Lachey is an accomplished singer, dancer and actor.

Drew first rose to prominence as a member of the Motown pop group 98 Degrees.

ScienceWriters | ScienceWriters